Aldean leads AMC awards

Madhav Pamidimukkala, Staff Writer

The American Country Music Academy put on a show Sunday for its 53rd annual awards show. Country’s elite stars delivered on their much-hyped performances, including veteran Luke Bryan, rising star Thomas Rhett, and the elusive Carrie Underwood who after taking a hard fall from her porch in November made her first performance with “Cry Pretty.” Underwood’s performance was the most anticipated and received the best feedback, drawing much more viewers than last year.

Chris Stapleton received the most nominations at eight while winning two, and Thomas Rhett followed with six nominations and but won no awards. The awards went as follows: Jason Aldean, Entertainer of the Year; Miranda Lambert, Female Vocalist of the Year; Chris Stapleton, Male Vocalist of the Year: Chris Stapleton; Brothers Osborne, Vocal Duo of the Year; Old Dominion, Vocal Group of the Year; Brett Young, New Male Vocalist of the Year; Lauren Alaina, New Female Vocalist of the Year; Midland, New Vocal Duo or Group of the Year; Rhett Akins, Songwriter of the Year; From a Room: Volume 1 – Chris Stapleton, Album of the Year; Miranda Lambert, Song of the Year: “Tin Man”; Brothers Osborne, Video of the Year “It Ain’t My Fault”; “The Fighter” – Keith Urban ft. Carrie Underwood, Vocal Event of the Year.