Time change could be Florida’s last

Lawmakers passed the Sunshine Protection Act in a 33-2 vote Tuesday which will allow Gov. Rick Scott to request U.S. Congress to enact a law allowing a year-round daylight-saving time for the state. During the winter solstice, Florida sunrise would then move to around 8:00 a.m. and sunset at around 6:30 p.m. This is in response to the discussion across the state to do so in support of the Florida tourism industry, along with the negative impact it has on students due to the changing time schedule. AP Physics teacher Estevez remains neutral on this decision, deeming it unnecessary if anything.

“For the most part we’re not farmers, so I don’t think it probably matters anymore whether we have daylight saving time or not,” Estevez said. “I really don’t care personally, one way or the other, which way we go. It impacts students and teachers for about a week, but our bodies adjust. Its influence on performance is on a temporary basis. The day will still have the same hours of daylight no matter how we adjust the clock. I think clocks are a human invention that don’t really make a difference. [This act] is unnecessary.”

The plan will leave the state with more sunshine in the evening during the winter. Involved in after schools activities, senior Elena Barr is looking forward to the change if it comes to pass through U.S. Congress.

I play soccer after school, so I like how there’s more light for us to play and I also like not having to drive home in the dark,” Barr said. “Since you have more daylight at the later hours instead of in the morning, and I think a lot more people do stuff in the later hours, it benefits more people overall. I’m more of night person anyways so I like how it gets darker later instead of in the morning because I’ll just sleep through the light in the morning anyways. ”

The U.S. Department of Transportation is responsible for setting time zones; however, the Department will allow states to move to daylight-saving time under Congressional approval. If approved, Florida will join two other states who have been exempted from the federal law enacted in 1966. 

By Rosellen Rodriguez