West Shore again tops Physics Bowl

For a third consecutive year, a West Shore’s “Varsity Physics” team has placed first in the state in the annual Physics Bowl competition conducted by the American Association of Physics Teachers.  The first-year physics team, under the direction of science teacher John Krehiel, earned a score of 139 points out of a possible 200, second in the Southeast Region.

“I am extremely proud of Mr. Krehbiel and his students for this tremendous honor,” Principal Rick Fleming said. “To be first in Florida and second in the southeastern United States is certainly no easy task. Mr. Krehbiel continues to inspire his students in many ways. He is a true testament to dynamic teaching and his genuine enthusiasm for the practicalities of physics is truly contagious.”

The first-year team was led by Ben Heuser, who was the second-highest-scoring student in the Southeast Region with a score of 32.  Also on the five-person team were Jack Goffinet, D.K. Issitt, Ben Schwaller and Adam Kline.

West Shore’s second-year physics team also had a strong showing, missing second place in the Southeast region by only four points.  The second year team was composed of Rashad Abdulla, Calvin Montgomery, Anthony Vigil, Johnathan Dillon, and Kelsey Savery.

Previous team winners include:
• 2010 – second year team:   No. 1 in Southeast Region: Karl Krehbiel, Mayur Mehta, Jesse Jia, Erik Maki, Ali Lamens
• 2009 – first year team: No. 1 in Florida, No. 2 in Southeast Region: Karl Krehbiel, Louie Rosasco, Mayur Mehta, Ali Lamens, Alex Chiles

Roar staff report