Drama troupe honors teachers of the year

The school’s drama Troupe 6034 helped honor teachers, employees and volunteers of the year at the annual ABC awards held at the King Center on Wednesday. Business partners and administrators also received recognition.

West Shore Teacher of the Year Jessica Hartman and Employee of the Year Derrick Hamilton along with Principal Rick Fleming were on hand for the festivities, during which West Shore thespians reprised their performance of  “Step in Time” from  their fall musical production of “Mary Poppins.”

Senior Jonah Hinebaugh said he was honored by the experience.

“It was amazing to perform in probably the largest crowd we ever have.” Hinebaugh said “It was something I had never done before and it was an honor to be able to do that.”

This is the fifth year of the ABC awards and sophomore Jasmine Greathouse was grateful for the practice.

“It was a fun, eye-opening experience.” Greathouse said “It was a good way to practice before we perform [Step in Time] at state.”

The last time Troupe 6034 preformed at the ABC awards was four years ago with the number “King of New York.”

Sophomore Rachel Montgomery likened Wednesday’s performance to a dream.

“Performing at a venue and for an audience that size was indescribable,” Montgomery said. “Our group has worked so hard, and I’m so proud we were invited to perform. The arts aren’t very well-funded, so hopefully our performance will inspire the district to show more support.”

By Eve Beard